Caprese Chicken Pasta

PASTA!!! Oh glorious pasta, how I love thee. Its such a cheap, easy and sometimes quick way to feed your family. The only thing that stinks about pasta is that if you are on a diet, it’s a hard thing to have. Luckily, with my Skinnytaste cookbook, I can!

The recipe in the book is actually called Chicken Pasta Caprese, but I think the way I put it rolls off the tongue better πŸ˜‰

I used the same ingredients as the original recipe except I added a little dry white wine, it’s an ingredient that can be omitted but I like to add wine to my fresh tomato dishes. I can’t say that I was too pleased with this dish, to be honest, it needed a little help. Maybe its was the Trader Joe’s pasta that I used, it was an organic brown rice pasta. I should just stick with the classics, they are classics for a reason right? I felt the dish also lacked flavor. I’m going to mess around with this a little more and post about it again. Both Zach and Lucy devoured this dish which was surprising for me.

Caprese Chicken Pasta

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast cut into bite sized chunks

Salt and Freshly ground pepper (we’ve talked about this before, yes?)

1/2 dried basil

Cooking spray

9 ounces of your favorite short pasta

4 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil

6 garlic cloves minced

2 1/2 cups halved grape tomatoes

Splash of dry white wine

1/4 cup chopped fresh basil

4 ounces mozzarella cheese cut into chunks

 

Heat a large skillet on medium high heat. Season the chicken with Salt, pepper and dried basil. Spray your skillet with cooking spray and add chicken. Cook until the chicken is throughly cooked then transfer to a bowl.

While you are cooking your chicken, start your pasta. After your water comes to a boil make sure to season it with salt. You want your pasta water to be salty like the sea, it makes for the best tasting dishes. Drain but reserve about a cup of pasta water.

After the chicken is done, add olive oil and saute the garlic until fragrant. Add tomatoes, season with salt and pepper and turn the heat to medium low. Allow to cook until the tomatoes start to become soft and release their juices. This is when I added my splash of white wine, I added maybe 1/8 cup. Add the pasta in and stir, if the dish seems too dry, add some of the pasta water.

Add the chicken, basil and mozzarella, then serve!

 

Prepared this way, a little under 2 cups is 495 calories. Not bad for a pasta dish!

Author: TheTiredFoodie

I’m a white coat wife, mommy and foodie thats trying to get back in shape. I take recipes from various blogs, cookbooks and those random Facebook posts and turn them into my own! Trying to find a way to get fit and still eat things I enjoy.

Leave a Reply

