For the love of Pizza

A friend shared with me this post about a low carb pizza crust and I was very eager to try it. However the calories on a slice of regular cheese pizza is outrageous! I wanted to come up with an alternative for those days that I just really want a few slices.

I thawed out some of my sauce and started on the crust. I have to say, it was a little different than I had expected. I think I may have to fiddle with the recipe a touch, it wasn’t as chewy as I had hoped. The recipe calls for ground flax or almond flour, I used ground flax this time so I’m going to try the almond flour next time to see if it’ll give me that chewiness I was looking for. Overall, I was very happy with recipe, I’m excited to try it again!

 

Low Carb Pizza Crust

  • 1/3 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 2 tablespoons ground flax or almond flour or psyllium
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon Italian Seasoning Blend
  • 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Put all ingredients except the mozzarella into a food processor. Process until there are no more lumps then fold in the mozzarella. Spread onto a baking sheet or pizza stone and bake for 20-25 minutes. After its been baked, add your sauce and toppings, cook for another 10-12 minutes.

 

Per the original recipe, it says the calories are 230 per slice, cut into 6 slices. I plugged the recipe into MyFitnessPal and it showed me 176 per slice. I added my sauce and toppings to my recipe and in total, for two slices, was 545! I am pretty pleased with that.

Author: TheTiredFoodie

I’m a white coat wife, mommy and foodie thats trying to get back in shape. I take recipes from various blogs, cookbooks and those random Facebook posts and turn them into my own! Trying to find a way to get fit and still eat things I enjoy.

Leave a Reply

