Low Carb Bagels

Sorry for being away, I've been stuck in a bit of a rut lately. I completely fell off the wagon but I'm trying to get back on!

Onto the recipe! So a friend shared this recipe with me and I finally tried it today. It's pretty straight forward and easy. I made them while my daughter was taking a nap, mom win! Overall I was pleased with the outcome, they aren't as chewy as a "real" bagel and the almond flour gives it a different texture all together. They were tasty and were a great vehicle for cream cheese or lemon curd!

Low Carb Bagels

2 oz cream cheese
2.5 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
1.5 cups almond flour
1 tbsp baking powder
2 large eggs, beaten
Sesame seeds (optional)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
Stir together the cheeses and microwave for 2 minutes, storing half way through. Once cheese is fully melted add the flour, baking powder and beaten eggs. Knead with your hands until a dough forms. It's a very sticky dough so it will get messy. If the dough becomes too hard to work with, stick it into the microwave for 15 seconds.

Divide dough into 6 parts, form a log and press the ends together to form the bagel. Now would be the time you'd add the sesame seeds, just sprinkle on top and gently press them into the dough. Bake for 14 minutes or until golden! Enjoy!

One bagel is 361 calories!

Author: TheTiredFoodie

I’m a white coat wife, mommy and foodie thats trying to get back in shape. I take recipes from various blogs, cookbooks and those random Facebook posts and turn them into my own! Trying to find a way to get fit and still eat things I enjoy.

Leave a Reply

